Databases

African-American History Online – Covering more than 500 years of African-American history, this comprehensive reference database features thousands of extensively hyperlinked and informative entries, including biographies, (some with quotes), primary sources, images, timelines, and maps and charts.  Web links direct users to some of the web’s best educational sites.
American Indian History and Culture – Access to more than 1000 years of Native American culture, legends, and leaders.
Ancestry.com – Comprehensive international genealogical database covering billions of names and vital statistics in thousands of resources and collections. (Only available on-site at The Ferguson Library)
Ancient History and Culture – This database gives a balanced, global view of the ancient world as it explores five civilizations – Africa, Egypt, Greece, Rome, and Mesoamerica.
Heritage Quest Online – Research resource for family history and American culture includes U.S. federal census records and the UMI Genealogy and Local History collection.
JSTOR – JSTOR’s archival journal collections include more than two thousand journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Both multidisciplinary and discipline-specific journal collections are offered, covering more than 50 academic disciplines

Best of the Web

American Memory – A digital record of American history and creativity. Free access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
Best History Sites – Quick, convenient, and reliable access to the best history-oriented resources online in a wide range of categories. Links to over 1,200 history-related web sites that have been reviewed for quality, accuracy, and usefulness.
Chronicling America – Digitized historic newspapers from approximately 40 states.  The time period covers 1836-1922.  For Connecticut, there is the Norwich Bulletin and the Bridgeport Evening Farmer from 1909-1922.
Connecticut History – A project of Connecticut Humanities and home for stories about the people, traditions, innovations, and events that make up the rich history of the Nutmeg State. New content and connections are available every week.
Discovering American Women’s History Online – Primary-source digital materials concerning women in American history . Descriptions and links to more than 700 digital collections covering topics such as advertising, education, and the military.
Historical Text Archive – High quality articles, books, essays, documents, historical photos, and links for a broad range of historical subjects.
Medici Archive Project – This archival collection, comprising over 4 million letters, covers a chronological span of two hundred years, from 1537 to 1743. It documents the political, diplomatic, gastronomic, economic, artistic, scientific, military, and medical cultures of early modern Tuscany and Europe.
Stamford History Center – The municipal historian of Stamford, an educational and research institution whose primary functions are to collect, preserve, conserve, interpret, and exhibit materials relating to Stamford, Connecticut and out region in order to engage citizens in telling of their stories.
U.S. History – Owned by the Independence Hall Association in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania to support their mission to educate the public about the Revolutionary and Colonial eras of American history

Please have your library card handy to log in from home or the office.
Need help? Ask a librarian!
For immediate help, call 203-351-8221

Catalog Search