Consumer health information, nutrition, health and wellness, researching a doctor.

Databases

Health and Wellness Resource Center including Alternate Health: Comprehensive resource that provides integrated access to medical, statistical, health, and related information with up-to-date reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources. (Provided with generous support from Purdue Pharma)

HealthPocket  – Compare and rank health insurance plans across Connecticut. Also provides information about health plans and offers a comparison tool to help you get the best health insurance.

Reference USA – Quick or customized search for physician or dentist by name, location, specialty, gender and/or credentials.

Physician Profile – For Connecticut-licensed physicians, gives specialty, education, languages spoken, board certification, and any malpractice action.

On the Web

American Dental  Association – Oral health related information for dentists and their patients, as well as dentist locator.
AMA (American Medical Association) Doctor Finder – Search for AMA physicians by name or by specialization.
Asbestos – The Mesothelioma Center’s website provides searchable database for doctors and treatments.
Centers for Disease Control – Access to demographic and public health data, heath information for travelers, health surveillance tools as well as health news and links to other government information resources.
Affordable Health Care Act – Conecticut State Library
Ebola Information from the State of Connecticut – Useful facts for state residents.
National Cancer Institute – Provides information on cancer topic, ongoing clinical trials, statistics, research and funding activities.
Flu.gov – Comprehensive government-wide information on seasonal, H1N1 (swine), H5N1 (bird) and pandemic influenza for everyone.
Food Composition Database – Allows simple searches of the USDA Food Composition Databases which includes the USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference and the USDA Branded Food Products database
Healthfinder – Guide to health and human services databases, websites, and agencies.
Independent Student’s Guide to Healthcare – Information for young adults about insurance and getting medical help.
Kidshealth – Information about health, behavior, and development from before birth through the teen years free of “doctor speak”. Sections for parents, kids and teens.
Healthy Roads Media – health education materials in a variety of languages and formats.
Hospital Compare – Information on how the hospitals in your area care for all their adult patients with certain medical conditions. Compare the quality of care hospitals provide.
Household Products Database – Search by product name, ingredients, or chemical name. Provides Material Safety Data Sheet information.
InsuranceQuotes.org – A comprehensive health insurance guide for consumers.
Mayo Clinic – Access the experience and knowledge of the more than 3,700 physicians, scientists and researchers of Mayo Clinic. Features consumer health information on a wide range of diseases and conditions
MedlinePlus – A user-friendly source from the National Library of Medicine. Gives information on health, diseases, conditions, drugs; provides a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries; directories of doctors, dentists, and hospitals; health organizations.
The Mesothelioma Guide – Up-to-date information about living with mesothelioma, top doctors, treatment options, and more.
Physician Profile – For Connecticut-licensed physicians, gives specialty, education, languages spoken, board certification, and any malpractice actions.
Medicare – Nursing Home Compare – Find nursing homes in any city. Provides the past performance of every Medicare and Medicaid certified nursing home in the U.S.
WebMD – Commercial site provides wide array of consumer health information resources.

Catalog Search