A to Z Databases

The library provides access to online resources and databases that have been carefully selected by our staff to provide high-quality and reliable content. Most of these resources are available from home with a valid Ferguson Library card.

Icon Key
researchIT CT ct_icon stamford_icon databases_fl_logo
Database provided by researchIT CT
United States Government Connecticut Government Stamford Government Ferguson Library Card Required

Catalog Search

Translate

A

researchIT CT

ABI/INFORM

Comprises ABI/INFORM Global, Trade & Industry, and Dateline databases featuring thousands of full-text journals on business and trade information locally and globally.

researchIT CT

Academic Search Premier

Full text articles from over 4,700 academic journals covering all major areas of study including: social sciences, humanities, education, physics, chemistry, biology, engineering, language and linguistics, and more.

databases_fl_logoAccess Business News

Fully searchable current and archived content from over 350 business journals, news weeklies, and other periodicals covering local to national interests.

databases_fl_logoAccess Science

Premier online science platform featuring fully searchable content from McGraw-Hill’s Encyclopedia of Science & Technology covering all major scientific disciplines.

databases_fl_logoAccess U.S. Broadcast Transcripts

Full-text collection of current and archived broadcast transcripts from many of the top television and radio news shows in the United States.

databases_fl_logoAccess U.S. Newswires

Fully searchable current and archived content from leading U.S. newswire services providing local and national coverage.

databases_fl_logoAccess World News

Fully searchable current and archived content from over 4,700 news sources from 139 countries.

databases_fl_logoThe Advocate

Searchable full-text archive of The Advocate, Stamford’s local daily newspaper. (Covers January 14, 2005 to present)

databases_fl_logoAdvocate Historical Archive

Explore news articles from Stamford Advocate and Daily Advocate. (Covers 1829-2004)

databases_fl_logoAdvocate (Historical & Current)

Search news articles in The Advocate, Stamford Advocate, and Daily Advocate in historic and contemporary issues.(Covers 1829-present)

databases_fl_logoThe Advocate: Obituaries & Death Notices

Search obituaries and death notices in The Advocate (Covers October 2004 to present)

databases_fl_logoAncestry Library Edition

Comprehensive international genealogical database covering billions of names and vital statistics in thousands of resources and collections. (Only available on-site at The Ferguson Library)

B

databases_fl_logoBest’s Insurance Reports Online

Access to in-depth reports on public and private US, Canadian, and non-US insurers, reinsurers, and groups. Search for companies based on geographic location, industry, or segment. (Only available on-site at The Ferguson Library)

Biodiversity Heritage Library

The Biodiversity Heritage Library works collaboratively to make biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community.

researchIT CTBiography Reference Bank

In-depth narrative profiles of over 719,000 individuals providing the most current coverage of an individual’s life and works. Includes related full-text articles and abstracts and images from thousands of periodicals.

researchIT CTBiography Reference Center

Contains most of top-ranked biographical reference collections and magazines. Provides a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies, as well as thousands of unique narrative biographies.

Books & Authors

Draws upon the expertise of dozens of genre and subject experts to pick the very best award-winning and best seller fiction and non-fiction titles. Contains a collection of reading lists from trusted sources and advanced searching for titles based on character, subject, locale, and time period.

databases_fl_logoBooks in Print

Authoritative source for bibliographic information including professional reviews, cover images, summaries and annotations, and publishing information.

C

fdpUnited States Census Bureau

Quality data about the nation’s people and economy from the Federal government. Provides access to data from the Decennial Census of Population and Housing, Economic Census (every 5 years), Census of Government, American Community Survey, and more.

researchIT CT

Christian Science Monitor

Independent daily newspaper providing national and international news and commentary on people and cultures.(Covers 1988 to present)

Chronicling America

Digitized historic newspapers from approximately 40 states.  The time period covers 1836-1922.

For Connecticut, there is the Norwich Bulletin and the Bridgeport Evening Farmer from 1909-1922.

Connecticut Archives Online

Search over 4,000 finding aids from historical archives stored in universities, libraries, and historical societies around Connecticut.

researchIT CT

Connecticut Digital Collections

Digital collections from institutions around Connecticut like the Connecticut State Library and the State Archives. Includes court documents, law and legal materials, and photographs.

Connecticut History Illustrated

A digital collection of over 18,000 digital primary sources, together with interpretive and educational material. Focused on digital capture of historical photographs, maps, broadsides, paintings, manuscripts, and oral histories documenting people, events, and places that are part of the fabric of Connecticut history.

ct_iconConnecticut Physician Profile

Register of physicians licensed by the state of Connecticut. Review specialties, languages spoken, board certifications, and any malpractive actions.

Connecticut State Library Digital Collections (Ancestry.com)

Use Ancestry.com to search through Connecticut-specific genealogical records.

researchIT CT

Consumer Reports

Consumer Reports serves consumers through unbiased product testing and ratings, research, journalism, public education, and advocacy. Search articles and reviews . (Covers 1985 to present) 

D

DigitalLearn

Self-directed tutorials to learn a wide range of computer and digital skills.

Directory of Open Access Journals

Access articles from over 10,000 full-text and peer-reviewed scientific and scholarly journals from around the world covering a wide variety of subjects.

Driver Education

Connecticut DMV Permit practice exams. Includes 10 automobile and 6 motorcycle practice tests, a commercial driver’s license test, and driver’s manuals for automobile and motorycle.

E

researchIT CT

EBSCOhost for Public Libraries

Simultaneously search across multiple resources including Academic Search Premier, Biography Reference Bank,History Reference CenterMasterFILE Premier and others.

researchIT CT

EBSCOhost Español

Spanish-language interface to simultaneously search across multiple resources including Academic Search Premier, Biography Reference Bank, History Reference Center, MasterFile Premier, and others.

fdpEDGAR

The Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval (EDGAR) system provides access to company filings and mutual fund prospectuses submitted to the United States Securities & Exchange Commission.

databases_fl_logoEncyclopedia Americana

One of the largest general encyclopedia in the English language with more than 45,000 articles. Designed for high school and first-year college students and public library users.

databases_fl_logo

Encyclopedia of Associations

Detailed information of over 23, 000 nonprofit American membership organizations of national scope in categories such as trade, business, and commercial; legal, governmental, public administration, and military; cultural; educational; veterans, hereditary, and patriotic; athletic and sports; fan clubs, and many more.

databases_fl_logo

Encyclopedia Judaica

Overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to “Americana” and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures.

fdpEducation Resources Information Center (ERIC)

Digital library of education related resources sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the US Department of Education.

F

fdpFederal Digital System

The Federal Digital System (FedSys) provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

researchIT CTFindIT CT

Statewide catalog to search for books, movies, and other materials at libraries throughout Connecticut. Search simultaneously all content in ResearchIT CT considered to be most useful to residents of Connecticut with one search.

fdp

Food Composition Database

Allows simple searches of the USDA Food Composition Databases which includes the USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference and the USDA Branded Food Products database

databases_fl_logoFoundation Directory Online

Access to an unprecedented wealth of timely, comprehensive information on grantmakers and their grants including databases that have over 140,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking charities in the U.S; over 4,000 sponsoring companties; and over 3.8 million recently awarded grants. (Only available on-site at the Ferguson Library, DiMattia Building)

G

Glassdoor

A growing database of 6 million company reviews, CEO approval ratings, salary reports, interview reviews and questions, benefits reviews, office photos and more. Additionally find millions of job openings around the world.

globalEDGE

Comprehensive international business and trade content on a wide range of topics. Covers global resources, market potential index (mpi), database of IB statistics (DIBS), glossary, all countries, US States, all sectors, GlobalEDGE blog, course development tools, research distribution, job banks, and diagnostic tools.

researchIT CT

GreenFILE

A collection of scholarly, government, and general-interest titles covering all aspects of human impact to the environment with content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

databases_fl_logoGrolier Multimedia Encyclopedia

One of the largest general encyclopedia in the English language with more than 45,000 articles. Designed for students in middle school to high school.

H

researchIT CT

Hartford Courant Historical

Explore news articles from the Hartford Courant’s historical archives. (Covers 1764 to 1922)

databases_fl_logoHealth and Wellness Resource Center including Alternate Health

Comprehensive resource that provides integrated access to medical, statistical, health, and related information with up-to-date reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources.

Healthfinderfdp

A government website to find information and tools to help you and those you care about stay healthy with resources on a wide range of health topics selected from approximately 1,400 government and non-profit organizations.

HealthPocket

Compare and rank health insurance plans across Connecticut. Also provides information about health plans and offers a comparison tool to help you get the best health insurance.

researchIT CT

Heritage Quest Online

Research resource for family history and American culture. Includes federal census records and the UMI Genealogy and Local History collection.

researchIT CT

History Reference Center

Extensive full-text history reference database, featuring full text for reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction.

researchIT CT

Hoover’s Company Profiles

Information about more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives delivering in depth industry analyses, information on a company’s location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more.

J

databases_fl_logoJobNow

JobNow provides you with practical tools to help you get a job from writing a resume to interview advice and tips.

databases_fl_logo

JSTOR

JSTOR’s archival journal collections include more than two thousand journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Both multidisciplinary and discipline-specific journal collections are offered, covering more than 50 academic disciplines.

K

databases_fl_logoKanopy

Watch over 26,000 films on Kanopy! Now available at The Ferguson Library, you can now watch must-see classic films from The Criterion Collection, learn about every subject imaginable from The Great Courses and PBS, or indulge in festival indie or world cinema sourced from award-winning filmmakers globally. Kanopy makes it easy to watch at any time, to share and discuss films. You are allowed up to 5 checkouts per month, each available for 72 hours.

L

ct_iconLaw Library System – Connecticut Judicial Branch

Prompt and professional guidance and access to reliable and comprehensive information to individuals who are researching or pursuing legal rights and remedies.

researchIT CT

Legal Information Reference Center

Full-text resource for many premier consumer legal reference books and find thousands of multi-state legal forms searchable by subject areas including adoption, bankruptcy, name  changes and more.

databases_fl_logoLiterature Criticism Online

The largest curated online collection of literary criticism in the world representing a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras, and genres.

researchIT CT

Los Angeles Times

Explore news articles from the Los Angeles Times. (Covers 1985 to current)

databases_fl_logolynda.com

lynda.com helps anyone learn software, technology, creative, and business skills to achieve their personal and professional goals. lynda.com is a premier online learning resource offering more than 3,500 courses covering technical skills, creative techniques, business strategies, and more.

M

researchIT CT

MainFile

Multi-disciplinary database providing coverage that encompasses all aspects of academic study and general interest subject areas with coverage for more than 4,300 full-text magazines and journals, nearly 250 full-text newspapers and newswires and over 2,900 full-text reference books and encyclopedias.

Martindale Hubbell

Contains profiles for over one million lawyers and firms in the United States, Canada and 160 other countries.

researchIT CT

MasterFile Premier

Contains full text for thousands of general reference magazines and publications and covers a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more with PDF backfiles (as far back as 1922) for key publications including American Libraries, Consumer Reports, Foreign Affairs, History Today, Library Journal, National Review, and Saturday Evening Post.

fdpMedlinePlus

Comprehensive health, wellness and medical information from National Library of Medicine. Includes medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, directories of medical providers and organizations. Also available in Spanish.

databases_fl_logoMergent Intellect

Business-centric research tool containing private and public U.S. and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information. Also includes industry profiles.

databases_fl_logoMorningstar Investment Research Center

Real-time access to comprehensive data and independent analysis on thousands of investments, spanning mutual funds, stocks, exchange-traded funds, and closed-end funds providing all levels of investors with a range of dynamic tools and thoughtful perspectives to help them make more informed investment decisions.

N

databases_fl_logoNational Directory of Nonprofit Organizations

Guide to the nonprofit world designed for marketers, sales staff, and nonprofit professionals providing contact and basic factual information on the largest nonprofit organizations in the United States.

databases_fl_logo

New Book of Popular Science

An online encyclopedia with more than 400 articles on science, medicine, and technology. Provides resources on breaking scientific news, projects, and activities for middle and high school students.

databases_fl_logo

Newsbank

Large news collection including print and online newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos at the local, regional, national and international level.

researchIT CT

Newspaper Source Plus

Full-text coverage from more than 1,200 major newspapers around the world. Also features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.

Newspapers of Connecticut

Sample collection from the Connecticut State Library of historical newspapers covering the various regions, perspectives and topics of the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries in Connecticut. (1821-1929)

New York State Physician Profiles

Register of physicians licensed by the state of Connecticut. Review specialties, languages spoken, board certifications, and any malpractice actions.

New York Times

Consumer edition. Full-text articles from The New York Times providing national and international news, opinion, and commentary. (You may register more than once for unlimited access, after the expiration of the first 24 hour trial). (Only available on-site at The Ferguson Library)

New York Times

Consumer edition. Full-text articles from The New York Times providing national and international news, opinion, and commentary. (You may register more than once for unlimited access, after the expiration of the first 24 hour trial). (If you are not at The Ferguson library, use this link)

databases_fl_logoNew York Times

Full-text articles from The New York Times providing national and international news, opinion, and commentary. (1980 to current)

databases_fl_logoNew York Times Historical

Explore news articles from The New York Times’ historical archives. (Covers 1851 to 2009)

researchIT CT

Nonfiction Book Collection for High School Students

Research database containing informative abstracts and searchable full text for more than 2,440 popular nonfiction books including high interest titles on careers, health, ethnicity, disabilities, technology, biographies, music, science, history, civics, and more.

databases_fl_logoNovelist Plus

Contains reviews of both fiction and nonfiction, plot summaries, book discussion guides, and recommendations.

databases_fl_logoLa Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre

Spanish language encyclopedia for elementary and middle school children.
Enciclopedia de la lengua española para niños de la escuela primaria y media.

O

Occupational Outlook Handbook

The Federal government’s premier source of career guidance featuring hundreds of jobs as wide-ranging as carpenter, teacher, and veterinarian. Revised every 2 years, the latest version contains employment projections for the 2012-22 decade.

P

fdpU.S. Patent & Trademark Office

The Federal government agency responsible for granting patents and registering trademarks. Find information on how to research and apply for a patent or trademark.

researchIT CT

Professional Development Collection

Comprehensive collection of full-text education journals. Provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high-quality education journals and more than 200 educational reports.

databases_fl_logoPronunciator

Comprehensive language learning software supports learning of 80 languages and ESL lessons for speakers of 50 different languages. Featuring flashcards, conversations, downloadable textbooks, learners’ manual, phrasebooks, culture and business information, and pronunciation.

Public Library of Science (PLoS) Journals

Peer-reviewed, open-access scientific and medical journals that include original research as well as timely feature articles.

fdpPubMed

PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

R

databases_fl_logoReferenceUSA

Premier source of nationwide directories for 24 million business and 89 million residences, 2.5 million job listings, detailed information on 255 thousand physicians and dentists, plus market research and neighborhood research.

researchIT CT

Referencia Latina

This extensive database offers content from a variety of sources including an inclusive collection of images, health reports, and full text for reference books and general interest magazines in a broad array of subject areas and current articles from a dozen prominent newspapers from 10 Latin American countries. Additionally, the resource covers a full spectrum of Spanish-language scholarships inside and outside academia.

Esta extensa base de datos ofrece contenido de una variedad de fuentes, incluyendo una colleción de imágenes, informes de salud y el texto completo de libros de consulta y revistas de interés general incluido en una amplia gama de temas y artículos actuales de una docena de periódicos promientes de 10 países de América Latina. Además, el recurso cubre un espectro competo de becas español dentro y fuera del ámbito académico.

researchIT CT

ResearchIT CT A-Z E-Journals

Alphabetical listing of all the electronic magazines and journals from the Connecticut statewide library service.

researchIT CT

ResearchIT CT Newsstand

List of online newspaper databases provided by ResearchIT CT. Includes The Christian Science Monitor, Hartford Courant, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and more.

researchIT CT

ResearchIT CT OneSearch

Search all the online resources provided by Connecticut’s statewide library service from one place.

S

researchIT CT

Science Reference Center

Full-text source from nearly 200 science periodicals, 700 science reference books and encyclopedias covering topics such as biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmemental science, health and medicine, life science, mathematics, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology, and wildlife. Additionally provides full-text science essays and biographies along with images and video.

databases_fl_logoSmall Business Resource Center

Comprehensive database to support prospective and current entrepreneurs covering all aspects of starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax, and more. Includes the entire Business Plans Handbook Series with hundreds of sample business plans created by real-life entrepreneurs.

Stamford Newspaper Obituary Index

Search obituaries printed in Stamford newspapers since 1830 by name and date. Text of obituaries are available on microfilm at the DiMattia Main Branch or through our digitized archive at Newsbank (1829-1903, 1948-2004).

stamford_iconStamford Online Assessor’s Database (Grand List)

Resource provided by the city of Stamford for assessment figures, property ownership history, property information, etc. Search by Stamford street address or owner’s name.

databases_fl_logoStandard & Poor’s Net Advantage

Thorough source of business and investment information that offers online access to industry surveys, stock reports, corporation records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, and mutual fund reports.

researchIT CT

Student Research Center

Search databases and periodicals by topic or keyword using an interface specifically designed for middle and high school students.

T

researchIT CT

Teacher Reference Center

Provides indexing and abstracts for 280 peer-reviewed journals covering a variety of topics for teachers such as assessment, best practices, continuing education, curriculum development, literacy standards and more.

TechBoomers

A free educational website that teaches older adults and other inexperienced Internet users with a basic computer skills about websites that can help improve their quality of life.

databases_fl_logoTesting and Education Reference Center

Educational resource offering a range of practice standardized exams and preparation eBooks for education and careers, including the G.E.D., PRAXIS, SAT, and more. Search thousands of college and graduate school entries and scholarships.

researchIT CT

TOPICSearch

Full-text database for over 150 thousand articles from 475 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.

databases_fl_logoTutor.com

Fully online tutoring service offering help in more than 40 subjects including math, science, social studies, English, AP support, foreign languages, and business for students in kindergarten to grade 12. One-on-one live tutoring is available from 3:00 pm to 10:00 pm daily.

U

fdpUSA.gov

The official web portal of the United States government with easy access to U.S. government information and services.

V

Value Line

A company and industry research services that covers stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities, and special situation stocks.

W

researchIT CT

Wall Street Journal

Search articles and information from the Wall Street Journal, the world’s leading financial newspaper. (1984 to current)

researchIT CT

The Washington Post

Search articles and information from The Washington Post covering in-depth news and analysis of American politics, national and international trends and events. (1987 to current)

WorldCat

Search the collections of libraries from around the U.S. and the world for books, periodicals, sound recordings, and much more.

Z

databases_fl_logoZinio

The world’s largest newsstand offering full color, interactive digital magazines for your enjoyment. Find both current and back issues of popular magazines and periodicals.

Haven’t found what you are looking for?