One Public Library Plaza     Stamford CT 06904     203 964-1000

Español  |  Русский  |  Italiano  |  Français & Ayisyen  |  العربية  |  Português  |  Polski  |  中文

You are here:

Online Encyclopedias and Databases

Virtual Reference Desk

The Ferguson Library has made these databases available for the use of remote visitors. Select a database to search for articles on different topics from encyclopedias, magazines, newspapers, etc. Some databases include images and/or full text. Also, check out Ferguson Library's Homework Help site with links on a wide range of subjects.

Please have your Ferguson Library card handy to use these databases. If you do not have a Ferguson Library card, please visit your local branch to obtain one. Connecticut state residents may use their local library card number to access ICONN.org databases.

Encyclopedias

Student Research Center
Journal and encyclopedia articles related to history, geography, science, and literature all collected in one place.

Encyclopedia Americana
An online reference source with a powerful search tool--it will help you find the information you need.

Kids Search
Search for articles by subject, publication, or date.

Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia
Browse a category, search for an article, or select a featured topic.

Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre en Linea
The only full-length online encyclopedia which focuses on Spanish-speaking people in America.

World Book Online
Your online route to reliable, easy-to-understand information, search tools and information sources.

 

People

Biography Reference Center
Biographical profiles and pictures of individuals from antiquity to present.

 

Science

Access Science
Relevant, current, and practical scientific information that will help you in your studies and research.

Kids Health
A resource for parents, kids, teens and educators with facts on physical, emotional and behavioral wellness.

New Book of Popular Science
Search the SciClopedia, NewsBytes, and career articles for current scientific information.

 

History and Geography

African-American History & Culture
Covering more than 500 years of African-American history, this comprehensive reference database features thousands of extensively hyperlinked and informative entries, including biographies (some with quotes), primary sources, images, timelines, and maps and charts. Web links direct users to some of the web’s best educational sites.

American Indian History and Culture
Access to more than 1000 years of Native American culture, legends, and leaders.

Ancient History and Culture
This database gives a balanced, global view of the ancient world as it explores five civilizations – Africa, Egypt, Greece, Rome, and Mesoamerica.

History Reference Center
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, full-text, articles, and original documents.

 

Magazines

EBSCO Host
Search this multimedia database of the world's leading magazines.

Acadmic Search Premier
Search encyclopedia, magazine, and newspaper articles and maps.

SIRS Discoverer
An award-winning database designed with the young researcher in mind.

 

Literature

Books in Print
The first place to find books, audios, and videos.

 

Photos

Historical photos of Stamford

Associated Press Photo Archive*
Search or browse photos in news, sports, and entertainment.

 

Databases from the Connecticut State Library

ICONN: Resources for the Public
A one-stop shop for periodicals, newspapers, references sources, biographies, as well as information in many curriculum areas, maps, almanacs, and Spanish resources.

* Databases from ICONN: Resources for the public