Search Our Catalog-->

One Public Library Plaza     Stamford CT 06904     203 964-1000

Español  |  Русский  |  Italiano  |  Français & Ayisyen  | Português  |  Polski  |  中文

You are here:


Literary Databases and Websites


Literary Criticism

Academic Search Premier
Multidisciplinary journal database with strong coverage in the humanities. Mainly scholarly full-text articles, with many that are peer-reviewed.

A digitalized archive of important academic journals in various disciplines. Provides access to over 1700 American and international publications.

Literature Criticism Online
Commentary on works from all time periods and in all genres, including poetry, drama, short stories, and children’s literature.

Full-text journal articles, reference books, and primary source documents.

Student Research Center
Useful materials for the secondary school level, including literary articles, dictionaries, and encyclopedias.


Suggestions for Reading
Updated daily, a large number of popular book series with titles in order.

Novelist Plus
Explore recommended titles and author read-alikes for adults and children, with book discussion guides and feature articles.

Books & Authors
Award-winners, books by genre, and librarian favorites.


Search for Books and Other Materials

Ferguson Library Online Catalog
Check our catalog first to see if The Ferguson Library has what you need. Items not owned by Ferguson may be available through Interlibrary Loan.

Materials owned by public, academic, and special libraries in the state of Connecticut.

An international library database of print and non-print materials.

Books In Print
Determine the in-print status of published books. Also includes book reviews and other helpful resources for readers.


Electronic Books

The Library has a large selection of digital materials, including ebooks and eaudio. For information, visit our digital media page. If you need assistance downloading, please contact the library staff at 203 351-8221. 

Great Books Online From Bartleby.Com
In addition to the full-text of classic fiction, non-fiction, and verse, this free website includes dictionaries, thesauri, quotation books, Strunk’s Elements of Style, and other reference tools for writers.

Project Gutenberg Digitally Re-Published Literature
A collection of thousands of older books and historical documents freely available to the public. In English and a variety of world languages, with some titles also accessible as audiobooks.

The Perseus Digital Library
Comprehensive source of works from the classical world, in the original Greek and Latin, as well as in English translations. Also features Renaissance literature, and early American books and primary documents.


Other Helpful Resources

Pink Monkey Literature Summaries
Free guides to the most commonly taught books in high schools and colleges, with plot synopses and study questions. 

Bedford St. Martin's LitGloss
Extensive list of literary terms with definitions.