Search Our Catalog-->

One Public Library Plaza     Stamford CT 06904     203 964-1000

Español  |  Русский  |  Italiano  |  Français & Ayisyen  | Português  |  Polski  |  中文

You are here:

Business

Please have your library card handy to log in from home or the office.
Need help? Ask a Librarian! For immediate help call 203-351-8221.

Stamford Small Business Resource Center

The Stamford Small Business Resource Center, generously funded by the
First County Bank Foundation, is the premier place for information on
every aspect of small business. The Center holds an extensive collection
of print and digital materials and serves as a collaborative space,
conducive to brainstorming and networking. 

In addition to the
small business collection, the Library hosts classes on topics related
to small business and networking, and offers a Skype-a-Librarian service
in partnership with the Stamford Innovation Center and Business Council
of Fairfield County. For information on setting up a Skype session,
contact Elizabeth Joseph, ejoseph@fergusonlibrary.org.

Databases

Access Business News - Searchable content from over 350 business journals, news weeklies, and other periodicals covering local to national interests
Consumer Reports - Consumer-oriented product reviews
Dun & Bradstreet Million Dollar Database - Comprehensive company information on public and private companies
MasterFile Premier - Searchable collection of thousands of general reference magaizines and publications
Morningstar Investment Research Center - Comprehensive financial information on thousands of mutual funds and exchange-traded funds. Up-to-date information on returns and New York Stock Exchange and NASDAQ stocks.
Reference USA - Nationwide directories for 24 million business, plus market research and neighborhood research
Small Business Resource Center - Database to support prospective and current entrepreneurs covering all aspects of starting and operating a business
Standard & Poor's Net Advantage - Comprehensive source of business and investment information. Includes industry surveys, stock reports, corporation records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, and mutual fund reports
ValueLine - Covers stocks, mutual funds, options, and convertible securities as well as special situation stocks.

Learning Resources & Electronic Media

Business Ebooks
lynda.com
TotalBoox - Business and Economics Ebooks

Bibliographies

Small Business Startup Success
Entrepreneurship
Leadership

On the Web

Business USA - Official business link to the US government
Charity Navigator - Independent charity evaluator
Connecticut Secretary of State - Search Connecticut non-profit and profit corporations database by name, identification, or filing number
Consumer Price Indexes - Program produces monthly data on changes in the prices paid by urban consumers for a representative basket of goods and services
EDGAR - Search for SEC filings for US public corporations
Entrepreneur
GlobalEdge - Comprehensive international business and trade content on a wide range of topics.
Internal Revenue Service: A to Z Index for Business - Alphabetical listing of resources from the IRS for small businesses and self-employed
Internal Revenue Service: Tax Information for Businesses - Tax information and forms for US businesses
New York Times Small Business - Articles from the New York Times Small Business section
US Census Bureau: Business and Industry - Census Bureau programs that provide statistics about US businesses and government
US Small Business Administration - US Government department that provides information, resources, and advice for small businesses
Wall Street Journal Guide for Small Business - How-to guide for small businesses from the Wall Street Journal
Yahoo Finance - Provides stock quotes and up to the minute market news